The university was established in 1970 by the government of Pakistan by the Jahangirnagar Muslim University Ordinance, 1970. During the first two years, it operated as a project.Its first Vice-Chancellor took up office on September 24, 1970. The first group of students, a total of 150, was enrolled in four departments: Economics, Geography, Mathematics and Statistics. Its formal inauguration was delayed until January 12, 1971, when the university was formally launched by Rear Admiral S. M. Ahsan, the Chancellor. The university was formally launched on 12 January 1970.

After the independence of Bangladesh the university was renamed as Jahangirnagar University by Jahangirnagar University Act, 1973.


There are 30 departments under 5 faculties

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

  • * Department of Bangla
  • * Department of English
  • * Department of History
  • * Department of Philosophy
  • * Department of Archaeology
  • * Department of Drama and Dramatics
  • * Department of International Relations

Faculty of Biological Science

  • * Department of Botany
  • * Department of Zoology
  • * Department of Pharmacy
  • * Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • * Department of Microbiology

Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Science

  • * Department of Physics
  • * Department of Statistics
  • * Department of Chemistry
  • * Department of Mathematics
  • * Department of Geological Science
  • * Department of Environmental Sciences
  • * Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Faculty of Social Science

  • * Department of Economics
  • * Department of Anthropology
  • * Department of Government and Politics
  • * Department of Geography and Environment
  • * Department of Urban and Regional Planning
  • * Department of Public Administration

Faculty of Business Studies

* Department of Finance & Banking.
* Department of Marketing


There are three institutes for specialized research and training:
  • Institute of Business Administration
  • Institute of Computer and Information Technology
  • Institute of Remote Sensing
  • Institute of Chambazi Management

Halls for male students

  • Al Beruni Hall
  • Mir Mosharrof Hossain Hall
  • A. F. M Kamaluddin Hall
  • Shahid Salam Barkat Hall
  • Moulana Bhashani Hall
  • Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall
  • SAKA Chowdury Hall
  • Prof. Kamrul Arefin Hall
  • Motiur Vai Hall
  • Prof. IKtiar Alam Sir Hall
  • Austin International Hall

Halls for female students

  • Nobab Foijunnesha Hall
  • Fajilatunnesha Hall
  • Jahanara Imam Hall
  • Pritilota Hall
  • Begum Khaleda Zia Hall
  • Sabnur Purnima Hall
  • Auporba Prova Hall
  • Jasmine Jaim Hall


For Undergraduate Admission Click this Link

For Post-Graduate Admission Click this Link


Foreign students collect information regarding admission from the Education Councilor of Bangladesh Embassy or High Commission in their respective countries. Or, they can also communicate with the Registrar of the university.

To Communicate with the Registrar Click this link


Post a Comment

Please leave post related comments